It’s hard to find cheese that fits a halal diet. Most cheese producers use animal rennet or animal based enzymes. There are organic, all-natural gourmet cheeses available in some supermarkets and specialty stores. The$e al$o come with a gourmet a price $$$.
Here’s a cheese halalbyte that offers cheesy goodness with a great price: Tillamook Cheese!
The ingredients used to make Tillamook cheddar cheese include cultured milk, enzymes, salt, and annatto. All of our cheeses are made with a microbial/vegetable based enzymes, with the exception of Tillamook Vintage White Medium Cheddar Cheese and Tillamook Vintage White Extra Sharp Cheddar Cheese, which use a traditional rennet.
We use the microbial/vegetable-based enzyme (which has Kosher and Halal certification, and is approved for vegetarian products) to make all Tillamook cheese, with the exception of Tillamook Vintage White Medium Cheddar and Vintage White Extra Sharp Cheddar Cheeses. Our unique flavor profile of Tillamook Vintage White is a result of using traditional rennet.
Tillamook cheese is available in most large supermarket chains and they offer a nice variety of flavors.
Other great flavors:
Do you have any cheesy recommendations?